About EGU Statutes

EGU logo

European Geosciences Union



Title I: Constitution and aims of the association

Article 1: Name, residence and financial year

An association named "European Geosciences Union" (EGU), hereinafter called the Union, is hereby formed. Its registered office is that of the Ecole et Observatoire de Physique du Globe, 5 rue René Descartes, F-67084 Strasbourg cedex. This association is registered with the Tribunal d'Instance de Strasbourg and is subject to the rules of the local Civil Code, validated by the French Civil Legislation Law of June 1st 1924.
The financial year for the European Geosciences union is the calendar year.

Article 2: Objectives of the Union

The Union shall pursue scientific objectives exclusively and shall be a non profit-making organization in accordance to the French laws. Members of the Union do not receive any remuneration from the Union, but may be reimbursed expenses incurred on Union business; the Council shall establish guidelines for the scope and level of such reimbursement.
The objectives of the Union are to promote cooperation and discussion in Europe among scientists concerned with studies of the Earth and its environment and of planetary and space sciences and to promote and encourage the development of any or all of the relevant sciences, within and outside Europe. The objectives shall be achieved through the organization of scientific assemblies, publications, and by any other suitable means.
The Union may establish branches and associations or may participate in other associations where these are relevant to its objectives.

Title II: Composition

Article 3: Membership

The membership of the Union shall consist of Individual Members and Honorary Members as follows:
  • Individual Members are persons who subscribe to the objectives of the Union (Article 2) and pay the appropriate membership fee.
  • Honorary Members are persons whose international standing in geosciences, or whose services to the Union, are recognised by special election to the Union. Honorary Members shall not be required to pay any membership fee.
The membership fee shall be determined by the Council (Article 4.1).
Membership of the Union is open to all, whether European or not, on the approval of the Council (Article 4.1).
Membership of the Union, in whatever category, does not constitute any right to the funds of the Union.
The membership year shall be the same as the financial year of the Union.
Membership of the Union terminates on resignation or death of a Member, or failure to pay the annual membership fee, or exclusion by the decision of the Council following an open discussion at the Plenary Session.

Title III: Administration management and voting procedures

Article 4: Organisation

Overall management and control of the Union shall rest in the hands of an elected Council, consisting of a President, a Vice-President, a General Secretary, a Treasurer, and the Presidents of each Division (Article 4.2). The Executive Secretary (or Secretaries), appointed by the Council, is an ex-officio member of the Council. All members of the Council must be members of the Union. Details of the tenures of office are given in the By-laws.
The scientific activities of the Union shall be organised through Divisions, established by the Council as necessary.
The administrative activities of the Union shall be carried out through Committees, established by the Council as necessary.
A Plenary Session of the Union, open to all members, shall be convened during each General Assembly of the Union.
The Council, the Divisions, and the Committees, shall make their own rules of procedure with the exception of voting procedures and conflicts of interest (Article 5).

Article 5: Voting procedures and conflicts of interest

In meetings of the Council, the Divisions, the Committees, and the Plenary Session, decisions shall be made by simple majority of those present and voting "for" and "against", with the exception of changes to the Constitution (see Article 6.3).
Individuals invited to attend meetings shall not have any voting rights.
All members with voting rights have a single vote. The chairman of a meeting shall have a second casting vote, if necessary.
Voting at meetings shall be by show of hands, unless decided otherwise. Voting in the election of officers shall be secret.
Participants at all meetings must declare any conflicts of interest and may not vote in decisions where they have such conflicts; however, they may take part in discussions subject to the agreement of the other participants.

Title IV: Modification of the statutes and dissolution of the association

Article 6: By Laws, amendments, dissolution

By laws, as necessary, shall be established or changed within the framework of this Constitution by the Council, and ratified at the Plenary Session or in a ballot of all members.
Proposals for amendments to the Constitution may be submitted to the President provided they have the support of at least ten members, and are communicated at least three months prior to a meeting of the Council. Such proposals shall be considered by the Council prior to being forwarded to the Plenary Session.
Any proposals for amendments to the Constitution, together with the Council recommendations thereon (if any), shall be placed on the agenda of the next Plenary Session. Adoption of an amendment requires a quorum of 50 persons and a two-thirds majority of all the votes cast "for" and "against" at a Plenary Session.
Changes to the Constitution become effective after approval by the Plenary Session.
Dissolution of the Union shall be decided on a two-thirds majority vote in a ballot of all members of the Union. In the event of dissolution, the assets of the Union shall be transferred to one or several associations with similar objectives to its own.

Statutes registered on 23 October 1981 at the Tribunal d’Instance de Strasbourg, revised on 28 April 1982, 26 April 1990, 10 April 1992, 9 April 1995, recomposed on 7 September 2002, approved by the EGU Plenary Assembly on 16 April 2007, and registered on 19 September 2007 at the Tribunal d’Instance de Strasbourg.